A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.


Mark Twain

Provider Management

I always try to be very positive in my blogs. The reality is… life isn’t always positive, it’s what you take away from the negative that makes you become better than you were before.

I know, I know… that is so a cliché but those clichés are so very true.

I was talking with a friend the other day about a show that we worked on together. It was the biggest challenge of my career for many reasons, but it took me until that conversation to see all of the things that I learned from it and how it made me become better at what I do and how I do it.

“Experience is not what happens to a man; it is what a man does with what happens to him.”

― Aldous Huxley, Texts & Pretexts: An Anthology With Commentaries

I am always learning from all my shows but on this show I was responsible for things that were not normally part of my job description. But I took hold and tried to educate myself, on the run, in my new skill requirements. Because of this, I learned to see things in a different way. I started to think of what I could do to make what I needed to accomplish faster, better and really just to keep a head of the next challenge that was coming my way.

Stress is a great educator!

I worked way harder than I think I have ever done before and my job became all encompassing. I worked seven days a week, including stunt rehearsals and all the set “walk throughs” as well. (This is where producers, director and key personal walk through a set before shooting to see if we will have any technical problems.) I did and saw things that I had never been included in before. I learned so much by walking through before hand that on the day of shooting I was able to bring to set with me all the things I thought I would need… and it worked for me.

Because of what I learned from this show, I now work so very differently and I didn’t even realize it until after the phone call with my friend the other day. When I look at myself now I know that I am more present in the job that I do. I think more, focus more and strive for excellence in everything. I feel as if I was given an opportunity to push myself past where I thought I was doing good! I am now so much more than I had been and I am truly excited about what is coming and what I can learn from my next challenge.

If you learn anything from this blog I hope it will be to look at yourself honestly and make yourself a better team member for those you are working with. Look back on your own challenges and change your view to see what you can learn from everything you have done.

Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers.

Voltaire

Questions I ask myself all the time:

What can I do to help my team work together stronger?

How can I deal with challenging situations better?

How can I communicate clearer with all those around me?

How can I learn more from those around me?

How can I be better at what I do?

Oh the list goes on!

Another friend of mine said “If you don’t feel sick to your stomach all day long, than you’ve missed something and are not doing your job properly!”

That might be extreme, but I take it to mean; if you aren’t always trying to do better than you did yesterday… are you getting anything out of today?

Today you are you! That is truer than true! There is no one alive who is you-er than you!

Dr. Seuss

mr_mad_challenge

So today I say push yourself a little farther and become the next level of costumer that is fighting to get out. And remember to have fun while you do it!!

Change is such hard work.

Billy Crystal

 

2 thoughts on “A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.

    • Thanks! I had to edit so much of the original post… The balance between understanding the lessons learned and not hurting someone else while trying to describe how, and why the lesson came about is the balance that we all need to figure out. I hope that what was written still had understanding even if full clarity is not available.

Please leave a thought!

