It is the working man who is the happy man. It is the idle man who is the miserable man.


Benjamin Franklin

Chaplin, Charlie (Rink, The)_01I am working what I call a crossover.  This is where two shows collide and I have to prep the next show during the weekend of the show I am currently shooting.  My 2 day weekend just turned into the 2 day start of my next picture.  The challenge of working straight through for days… and sometimes weeks on end… is one we have to be prepared for.  The most important thing is to keep smiling, don’t snap at anyone and try to remember that eventually there will be a day of rest.

Keep laughing and take a look at some quotes below.  These are just a few reasons why I love to do what I do.  Tired legs and sleepy eyes not withstanding!

“Costume is so important for an actor. It absolutely helps to get into character; it’s the closest thing to you, it touches you. Some actors like to go into make-up and then put their clothes on, but I like to dress first; that’s my routine.”

Gary Oldman

Sirius-Black-Wallpaper-sirius-black-32913951-1024-768

“I’m glad I was born when I was. My time was the golden age of variety. If I were starting out again now, maybe things would happen for me, but it certainly would not be on a variety show with 28 musicians, 12 dancers, two major guest stars, 50 costumes a week by Bob Mackie. The networks just wouldn’t spend the money today.”

Carol Burnett

"I saw it in the window and I just couldn't resist it!"

“I saw it in the window and I just couldn’t resist it”

“The costumes are insane on ‘Once Upon a Time.’ It did influence my taking the job, the fact that not only would I be horseback riding and sword fighting and traipsing through the woods but I would be doing all those things in insane, medieval garb.”

Ginnifer Goodwin

once-upon-a-time-once-upon-a-time

“Costumes are the first impression that you have of the character before they open their mouths… it really does establish who they are.”

Colleen Atwoodthr_colleen-atwood105thr_0301131

“Our world was Northern, black and white, so it was a great thing for my sisters and me to sit down at Christmastime and watch these fabulous MGM musicals. All that color, all those beautiful costumes.”

Tracie Bennett

“When you’re dress designing, you’re dressing bodies with typical aspects; curves and hips and shoulders. But in costume design you’re designing for a character. You don’t have to just design pants and a shirt and a tie. You’re also designing sadness and droopiness and wiltiness. There are so many emotional ways that we play with—color and texture and patterns and the way things hang that contribute to what the character is really about.”

Jill Ohanneson

“A designer knows he has achieved perfection not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.”

Antoine de Saint-Exupery  (not really a costume person but a beautiful quote none-the-less!)

“What a costume designer does is a cross between magic and camouflage. We create the illusion of changing the actors into what they are not. We ask the public to believe that every time they see a performer on the screen he’s become a different person.”

Edith Head9559_002

“I had no idea of the character. But the moment I was dressed, the clothes and the make-up made me feel the person he was. I began to know him, and by the time I walked onto the stage… he was fully born.”

Charlie Chaplin on creating the Little TrampCharlie-Chaplin

“The reward is that you can actually create a world separate from reality with a story, actors, music, and camera design. When it works it can entertain, move people and teach us all.”

Colleen Atwood

Have fun and play safe!

If you tried the Tying One On crossword last week, click here for the link to the answers!

2 thoughts on “It is the working man who is the happy man. It is the idle man who is the miserable man.

  1. How inspiring, to be brought back to the reason we do all this work. I know it is what nourishes us all. You put it well with this great selection of quotes – thank you!

Please leave a thought!

