“There’s no limit to how much you’ll know, depending how far beyond zebra you go.”


Dr. Seuss

I thought this was a good one to pass on.

Lots of you may already know about the DPOF (Digital Print Order Format) setting that is an option in your camera.  However, for the few like me who had no idea about this function, this will make a fabulous difference to your crazy mornings.

IMG_1890So, every morning I would come in and set my continuity photos to print.  The photo machine would pop up with a screen of do you want to print DPOF.  My response was always,

” No, oh… just go away” (Yes, I talk to all my equipment. I am a friendly sort that way).

I had no idea what DPOF meant or how brilliant it was.  I just wanted the screen not to pop up so I wouldn’t have to make it go away every day.

One day a fellow costumer and friend – Thanks Jeff! – was on set with me, and he asked if I needed any continuity photos printed.  Of course I always do, although it would have been too hard to show him which of the multitude I wanted to print. I like to take a lot of photos. So I said I would do it later.  He said,

“If you just choose them in the camera, then I would print with DPOF.”

“Sorry what?” See blank look on my face here.

So he showed me how the DPOF works and wow!

Printing photos is so much faster knowing this.   Now while I am on set I can pre-choose which photos I want to print.  When I go to the truck at the end of the day the card goes into the printer and with just one push of a button, away it goes.

Start in your PHOTO PREVIEW on your camera,

Click into MENU

Choose the PRINT SETTING SYMBOL

Choose the PRINT SETTING SYMBOL,

Choose SELECT IMAGE AND QUALITY

Choose SELECT IMAGE AND QUALITY

SELECT your photos,

SELECT your photos,

Remove camera card from camera, put in photo printer,

Remove camera card from camera, put in photo printer,
Press PRINT

Label your photo and write your notes!

Label your photo and write your notes!

Cats Pajamas!

Enjoy the short cut!

PS: If you already know about DPOF you can skip this blog…

Oops! Too late!

Please leave a thought!

